## **Outside Bodies Committee**

# 10 January 2012

Present: Mrs L Arkley (Elected Mayor) and Councillors J M Allan,

B Burdis, Mrs S E Mortimer, T Mulvenna and C B Pickard

## OB24/01/12 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors A Arkle and CA Gambling.

#### OB25/01/12 CHANGES TO MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

It was noted that Councillor B Burdis had replaced Councillor A Arkle and Councillor T Mulvenna had replaced Councillor CA Gambling for this meeting only.

# **OB26/01/12 Appointment of Chair**

It was unanimously **AGREED** that Councillor JM Allan be appointed as Chair of the Committee for this meeting only.

#### **OB27/01/12 Declarations of Interest**

There were no declaration of interest was made:

#### **OB28/01/12 EXCLUSION RESOLUTION**

#### It was **RESOLVED** that:

'under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having applied a public interest test as defined in Part 2 of Schedule 12A of the Act, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act.'

## **OB29/01/12 Designation of Authority Governor**

The Committee considered a report detailing concern regarding the conduct of a Local Authority designated governor (Authority Governor).

Since the issue of the agenda a letter of resignation had been received from the Authority Governor. This was circulated for the Committee's information. It was explained that as a letter of resignation had been received the Committee did not need to consider the designation of the Authority Governor.

**Resolved** that the report and formal resignation letter be noted.

# OB30/01/12 Appointment of Authority Governor and Additional Governors

The Committee considered a report detailing interventions of the Local Authority in support of a warning notice issued to Monkseaton High School.

## **Resolved** that (1) the report be noted;

- (2) Mrs. A Welsh be appointed to the vacant Authority Governor position; and,
- (3) the temporary appointment of additional governors, made in accordance with Section 60 of the Education and Inspections Act 2006 as detailed below, be endorsed:
- 1. Mrs June Atkins
- 2. Ms Chris Cottam
- 3. Mr Anthony Gollings
- 4. Mrs Barbara Jordan
- 5. Ms Elizabeth Kerr
- 6. Mr John Marshall
- 7. Mr Mick McCabe
- 8. Mrs Sheila Tickell
- 9. Ms Pauline Wonders