Whitley Bay Town Cup Sub-committee

13 December 2016

Present: Councillor John O'Shea (Chair)

Councillors Alison Austin, Debbie Cox, Steve Cox, Naomi Craven, Paul Mason and Judith Wallace

WBT01/12/16 Appointment of Chair

Resolved that Councillor John O'Shea be appointed Chair of the Sub-committee.

(Councillor John O'Shea in the Chair)

WBT02/12/16 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors David Drummond, Sandra Graham, Ian Grayson, Margaret Hall, Ed Hodson, Les Miller, Pam McIntyre and Martin Rankin

WBT03/12/16 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interested reported.

WBT04/12/16 Exclusion Resolution

Resolved that under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having applied a public interest test as defined in Part 2 of the Schedule 12A of the Act the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act.

WBT05/12/16 Award of the Whitley Bay Town Cup 2016

The Whitley Bay Town Cup was awarded annually by the Council to any individual or organisation from within the former Borough of Whitley Bay who has either: (a) taken part in, or brought about, an outstanding event during the past 12 months; or (b) has given outstanding service to the community over a number of years.

The Sub-committee considered one nomination which had been made by a member of the public for the award of the Whitley Bay Town Cup 2016.

Members asked what publicity had been undertaken in seeking nominations and it was explained that the usual press release had gone out, as well as posters in public buildings throughout the Whitley Bay area.

Resolved that the Whitley Bay Town Cup for 2016 be awarded to Mrs Scott and the ladies involved in organising fundraising coffee mornings which have provided support to local charities.